PEARL – Residents and business owners in Bolivar, Coahoma and Washington counties are now eligible for disaster assistance following the historic March floods. Additional counties could be added pending further damage assessments.

Gov. Phil Bryant requested the declaration from President Obama on Wednesday, and the request was supported by Mississippi’s entire congressional delegation.

“I appreciate the federal government quickly issuing the disaster declaration, and I’m especially grateful for the support of Mississippi’s Congressional Delegation and FEMA Administrator Craig Fugate,” said Gov. Bryant. “This declaration will allow residents to being restoring their homes following the devastating floods.”

The disaster declaration qualifies affected residents in Bolivar, Coahoma and Washington counties to apply for FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program, which provides grants for individuals and families affected by the disaster.

Residents in Bolivar, Coahoma and Washington counties may begin registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired.

Additional counties may be added as damage assessments are completed.

Initial estimates showed more than 650 homes in Mississippi sustained major damage or were destroyed as a result of the flooding. Several state agencies, along with numerous nonprofit and faith-based organizations have been assisting with recovery since the storms began.

MEMA is working with FEMA and will provide additional information as it becomes available.