Two Additional Mississippi Counties Designated for Federal Disaster Assistance

PEARL – Residents and businesses in Greene and Perry Counties affected by the severe storms, flooding and tornadoes on Feb. 10 are now eligible to apply for federal disaster assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

“These designations are a direct result of the hard work done at the local level,” said MEMA Director Robert Latham.  “The local emergency managers and other officials did a tremendous job accurately assessing damages in their communities.  Based upon these damage assessments FEMA granted every request we submitted to them. Their quick response to all of our requests is appreciated by the entire state of Mississippi.”

Approved in this designation is:

  • Individual Assistance- Grants to individuals and households.
    The Federal Emergency Management Agency’s individual assistance program helps eligible applicants with things like:
    • Temporary housing assistance.
    • Uninsured or underinsured personal property losses.
    • Medical, dental and funeral expenses caused by the disaster.
    • Other disaster-related expenses and serious needs.
    • Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to cover residential and business losses not covered by insurance.

Residents in Greene and Perry Counties who have already registered for disaster assistance with FEMA do not need to register again.

The incident period for the Feb. 10 storms has closed and no more requests for assistance will be submitted to FEMA.

Forrest, Lamar, Marion and Wayne counties were previously designated for Individual Assistance and Public Assistance for local governments and some private nonprofits. Jefferson Davis County was designated for Individual Assistance last week.

Anyone with damages in these counties may apply now by going to�� or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). C-Spire Wireless customers can call #362 to register. The speech or hearing impaired may call (TTY) 1-800-462-7585.