PEARL – Nine Mississippi counties are now eligible for all categories of Public Assistance, which provides assistance to state, tribal and local governments, as well as certain non-profit organizations.

Itawamba, Lee, Lowndes, Rankin, Wayne and Winston counties were previously declared for categories A and B, but have been granted all categories of Public Assistance. Madison County was declared for categories A and B only.

Jones, Leake and Newton counties have been granted all categories of Public Assistance.

“Mississippi is already beginning the recovery process following these devastating storms, and this additional assistance will allow communities to begin long-term repairs and rebuilding,” Gov. Phil Bryant said.

The Public Assistance categories are as follows:

  • Category A: Debris Removal.
  • Category B: Emergency Protective Measures.
  • Category C: Roads and Bridges.
  • Category D: Water Control Facilities.
  • Category E: Buildings and Equipment.
  • Category F: Utilities.
  • Category G: Parks, Recreational Facilities and Other Items.

The Public Assistance Grant Program through the Federal Emergency Management Agency is a reimbursement grant program paid to state, tribal and local governments, and certain non-profit groups. Typically, the federal share is 75 percent, and the remaining non-federal share of 25 percent is shared between the state and local governments at a rate of 12.5 percent respectively. Eligible private non-profit groups are responsible for the full 25 percent.

Following last week’s Special Legislative Session, the state was authorized to pay all of the non-federal cost share (state and local shares) of all eligible and reasonable costs incurred by local governments for debris removal in the declared counties. The special session also authorized the state to provide advances to local governments as they begin to pay for other authorized recovery costs.