PEARL – Chickasaw County is now eligible for all categories of Public Assistance, which provides assistance to state, tribal and local governments, as well as certain non-profit organizations. The declaration follows December’s deadly tornadoes in North Mississippi.

Chickasaw County was granted all categories of the Public Assistance program by the Federal Emergency Management Agency. Benton, Clay, Coahoma, Itawamba, Marshall, Monroe, Panola, Prentiss, Quitman, Tallahatchie and Tippah counties were previously granted all categories of the Public Assistance program.

“This designation will allow Chickasaw County to begin the recovery process after these devastating storms,” said Gov. Phil Bryant.

The Public Assistance categories are as follows:
• Category A: Debris Removal.
• Category B: Emergency Protective Measures.
• Category C: Roads and Bridges.
• Category D: Water Control Facilities.
• Category E: Buildings and Equipment.
• Category F: Utilities.
• Category G: Parks, Recreational Facilities and Other Items.

The Public Assistance Grant Program through FEMA is a reimbursement grant program paid to state, tribal and local governments, and certain non-profit groups. Typically, the federal share is 75 percent, and the remaining 25 percent is shared between the state and local governments at a rate of 12.5 percent respectively. Eligible non-profit groups are responsible for the full 25 percent.

Benton, Coahoma, Marshall, Monroe, Panola, Prentiss, Quitman and Tippah counties were declared for FEMA’s Individual Assistance program. Residents with damage from December’s severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding have until March 4, 2016 to register with FEMA. Residents can register online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The hearing and speech impaired can call 1-800-462-7585 (TTY).

For more information about recovery efforts following December’s storms, visit MEMA’s website at The best way to get up-to-date information is to “Like” MEMA on Facebook, or “Follow” us on Twitter.