Disaster Unemployment Assistance Available

JACKSON, Miss. — The Mississippi Department of Employment Security announced that seven Mississippi counties have been declared disaster areas due to severe storms, tornadoes and flooding.  Workers in those counties who are permanently or temporarily unemployed due to the disaster may be eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA).  DUA is available to people who lose their jobs because of disasters, but who may not qualify for regular Unemployment Insurance benefits.

The seven counties are Itawamba, Lee, Lowndes, Madison, Rankin, Wayne and Winston.  Individuals who are temporarily or permanently out of work due to the storms may find answers to questions or apply for unemployment benefits or DUA on the agency website at mdes.ms.gov.  The DUA funds are available for the period beginning May 4, 2014, and ending November 1, 2014.  First payments will be issued the week of May 11, 2014.

Anyone without Internet access can apply online at their nearest WIN Job Center or by calling 800-843-8923.