Eleven Additional Counties Now Eligible For Federal Disaster Assistance

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                                     March 31, 2016

PEARL – Gov. Phil Bryant announced today that 11 additional counties have been added to Mississippi’s most recent disaster declaration due to the March flooding and severe storms. Clarke, Forrest, Greene, Jones, Marion, Panola, Perry, Quitman, Sunflower, Tunica and Wayne counties are now eligible for FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program. Bolivar, Coahoma and Washington counties were declared March 25. Additional counties could be added pending further damage assessments.

“I appreciate the quick turn-around by FEMA to add these counties to the disaster declaration,” said Gov. Bryant. “We are continuing to work with local, state, federal, nonprofit and volunteer agencies to assist affected residents with any unmet needs.”

Residents and businesses affected by the disaster in the 14 counties should apply now by going to www.disasterassistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Those who are deaf, hard of hearing or speech impaired can call 1-800-462-7585. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Services can call 1-800-621-3362 to register.

FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program helps eligible applicants with things like:

  • Temporary housing assistance.
  • Uninsured or underinsured personal property losses.
  • Medical, dental and funeral expenses caused by the disaster.
  • Other disaster-related expenses or serious needs.
  • Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to cover residential and business losses not covered by insurance.

Disaster Recovery Centers will be available in the declared counties but it is important for people to register first on the phone or online before going to the centers.

For more information about recovery efforts following the March floods, go to MEMA’s website at www.msema.org. The best way to get up-to-date information is to “Like” the agency on Facebook, or “Follow” the agency on Twitter.