FEMA Adds Public Assistance to Tornado Disaster Declaration

PEARL – Gov. Phil Bryant’s request for Forrest, Lamar and Perry counties to become eligible for all categories of Public Assistance has been approved by FEMA. Public Assistance provides reimbursement to state, tribal and local governments, as well as certain non-profit organizations for things like debris removal and repair of damaged infrastructure. 

The Public Assistance categories are as follows:

  • Category A: Debris Removal.
  • Category B: Emergency Protective Measures.
  • Category C: Roads and Bridges.
  • Category D: Water Control Facilities.
  • Category E: Buildings and Equipment.
  • Category F: Utilities.
  • Category G: Parks, Recreational Facilities and Other Items.

The Public Assistance Grant Program through FEMA is a reimbursement grant program paid to state, tribal and local governments, and certain non-profit groups. Typically, the federal share is 75 percent, and the remaining 25 percent is shared between the state and local governments at a rate of 12.5 percent respectively. Eligible non-profit groups are responsible for the full 25 percent. 

Residents in Forrest, Lamar, Lauderdale and Perry counties can register online for FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program at www.disasterassistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The hearing and speech impaired can call 1-800-462-7585 (TTY).

For more information about recovery efforts, visit MEMA’s website at www.msema.org. The best way to get up-to-date information is to “Like” MEMA on Facebook, or “Follow” us on Twitter @msema.