Four Mississippi Counties Declared For Federal Disaster Aid From Hurricane Nate

hard rock hurrocane

JACKSON Gov. Phil Bryant announced that President Donald Trump declared George, Greene, Harrison and Jackson counties federal disaster areas from the aftermath and effects of Hurricane Nate that hit Mississippi on October 8th.

Those four counties are eligible for Public Assistance, which is reimbursement grants to local governments and non-profit organizations for things like damage to infrastructure, debris removal, and overtime to responders.

“This will greatly assist our citizens on the Coast as they recover from Hurricane Nate, through the rebuilding efforts of critical infrastructure,” Gov. Bryant said. “I am grateful to President Trump and his Administration for their prompt attention to this matter.”

Mississippi is also approved statewide for the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, which is for measures/actions taken that reduce or eliminate long term risk to people and property from natural hazards.