Mississippi Emergency Management Agency Retains National Accreditation

EMAP Photo 12.12.17

Pearl – The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency retained its national accreditation status from the Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP) following a rigorous review that found the program met all 64 required national standards. The week-long review of Mississippi’s program was conducted by a team of certified assessors from across the nation in August 2016.

Mississippi first attained EMAP accreditation in 2011, and is one of just 34 states currently accredited by EMAP’s voluntary program.

“This reaccreditation is a team award we share with all of the counties, state agencies and partner organizations in Mississippi that are part of our state’s emergency preparedness and response efforts,” said Lee Smithson, MEMA Executive Director. “EMAP is a rigorous standard to meet, but it is essential to ensure we are prepared for any hazard that threatens the citizens of Mississippi.”

The Emergency Management Standard covers:

  • Program Management, Administration and Finance, and Laws and Authorities
  • Hazard Identification, Risk Assessment and Consequence Analysis
  • Hazard Mitigation
  • Prevention
  • Operational Planning and Procedures
  • Incident Management
  • Resource Management, Mutual Aid and Logistics
  • Communications and Warning
  • Facilities
  • Training
  • Exercises, Evaluations and Corrective Action
  • Emergency Public Education and Information

“Congratulations to those programs that have maintained their accredited status as well as those who have joined the elite leaders in emergency management having earned accreditation through the Emergency Management Accreditation Program. Through their commitment and leadership, they have proven to their communities and stakeholders that their programs are sustainable and that they continue to focus on their communities’ best interests,” stated Robie Robinson, Executive Director of Public Safety, University of Tennessee-Chattanooga and the EMAP Commission Chair.

In order to receive EMAP accreditation and reaccreditation, states are required to demonstrate 100 percent compliance with the Emergency Management Standard, which covers key areas such as program management; hazard identification, risk assessment and consequence analysis; hazard mitigation; prevention; operational planning; mutual aid; communications and warning; operations and procedures; training; exercises, evaluations and corrective action; crisis communications, public education and information; and more.

EMAP is an independent non-profit organization that fosters excellence and accountability in emergency management and homeland security programs by establishing credible standards applied in a peer review accreditation program. The accreditation process is voluntary.

To get the most up to date information, download the MEMA Mobile App to your smartphone by searching Mississippi EMA in your app store, and on social media “Like” MEMA on Facebook and “Follow” MEMA on Twitter @msema.