PEARL – Gov. Phil Bryant announced today that two additional counties have been added to Mississippi’s most recent disaster declaration due to the March flooding and severe storms. George and Pearl River counties are now eligible for FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program.

Bolivar, Clarke, Coahoma, Forrest, Greene, Jones, Marion, Panola, Perry, Quitman, Sunflower, Tunica, Washington and Wayne counties were previously declared. Additional counties could be added pending further damage assessments.

“I appreciate the approval from FEMA to allow residents in all 16 of these counties to begin the recovery process,” said Gov. Bryant. “We are working around the clock to ensure the needs of residents are being met. Our state-led unmet needs taskforce is meeting weekly to ensure no one is slipping through the gaps.”

Residents and businesses affected by the disaster in Bolivar, Clarke, Coahoma, Forrest, George, Greene, Jones, Marion, Panola, Pearl River, Perry, Quitman, Sunflower, Tunica, Washington and Wayne counties should apply now by going to or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Those who are deaf, hard of hearing or speech impaired can call 1-800-462-7585. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Services can call 1-800-621-3362 to register.

FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program helps eligible applicants with things like:

  • Temporary housing assistance.
  • Uninsured or underinsured personal property losses.
  • Medical, dental and funeral expenses caused by the disaster.
  • Other disaster-related expenses or serious needs.
  • Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to cover residential and business losses not covered by insurance.

Disaster Recovery Centers will be available in the declared counties, but it is important for people to register first by phone or online before visiting to the centers.

For more information about recovery efforts following the March floods, go to MEMA’s website at The best way to get up-to-date information is to “Like” the agency on Facebook, or “Follow” the agency on Twitter.