One Additional Mississippi County Designated for Federal Disaster Assistance

Pearl – Residents and businesses in Jefferson Davis County affected by the severe storms, flooding and tornadoes of Feb. 10 are now eligible to apply for federal disaster assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

“The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency has been working hard with our local, state, federal and nonprofit partners to find assistance wherever it is available,” said MEMA Director Robert Latham.  “I greatly appreciate FEMA’s decision to provide assistance to Jefferson Davis County.  MEMA will continue to pursue additional assistance for residents in other counties who may have been affected by these storms.”

Approved in this designation is:

  • Individual Assistance- Grants to individuals and households.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency’s individual assistance program helps eligible applicants with thing like:

  • Temporary housing assistance.
  • Uninsured or underinsured personal property losses.
  • Medical, dental and funeral expenses caused by the disaster.
  • Other disaster-related expenses and serious needs.
  • Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to cover residential and business losses not covered by insurance.

Residents in Jefferson Davis County who have already registered for disaster assistance with FEMA do not need to register again.

Forrest, Lamar, Marion and Wayne counties were previously designated for Individual Assistance and Public Assistance for local governments and some private nonprofits.

Anyone with damages in these counties may apply now by going to www.disasterassistance.govor by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). C-Spire Wireless customers can call #362 to register. The speech or hearing impaired may call (TTY) 1-800-462-7585.