U.S. Army Corps of Engineers – Vicksburg District Updates on Conditions in the Yazoo Backwater Area

VICKSBURG, Miss. – The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) Vicksburg District met with local Warren County officials May 10 at the district’s headquarters building in Vicksburg to provide an overview of current and forecasted conditions in the Yazoo Backwater area and discuss the implications of these conditions on Eagle Lake. Additionally, district engineers provided […]

Nine Mississippi Counties Declared Federal Disaster Areas

JACKSON – Gov. Phil Bryant announced that President Donald Trump declared Adams, Calhoun, Carroll, Claiborne, Holmes, Jefferson, Montgomery, Webster and Yazoo counties federal disaster areas this afternoon from severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding that hit Mississippi on April 30, 2017. Those nine counties are eligible for Public Assistance, which is reimbursement grants to local governments […]