FEMA Approves Addition of Three Counties to Federal Disaster Number 4470

PEARL – The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) approved the addition of three counties to Federal Disaster Number 4470, which is in response to the Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, and Flooding that occurred due to Tropical Storm Olga on October 26. Those counties approved for Public Assistance are Chickasaw, Choctaw, and Oktibbeha. 

The addition of these three counties brings the total receiving federal assistance due to this disaster to 19. The other 16 counties already included are Alcorn, Covington, Itawamba, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Leake, Lee, Marion, Neshoba, Newton, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Scott, Simpson, Smith, and Tippah. 

Public Assistance is a supplemental cost reimbursement grant program that assists in the restoration of community infrastructure. The Public Assistance categories are as follows:

  • Category A: Debris Removal.
  • Category B: Emergency Protective Measures.
  • Category C: Roads and Bridges.
  • Category D: Water Control Facilities.
  • Category E: Buildings and Equipment.
  • Category F: Utilities.
  • Category G: Parks, Recreational Facilities, and Other Items.

This declaration is the fourth federal disaster in Mississippi this year.

Mississippi is also approved statewide for the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program. This program is for measures/actions taken that reduce or eliminate long term risk to people and property from natural hazards.

For more information about recovery efforts, visit MEMA’s website at www.msema.org. The best way to get up-to-date information is to “Like” MEMA on Facebook (@msemaorg) or “Follow” us on Twitter @msema.

# # #