President Trump Approves Mississippi’s Request for Federal Assistance Ahead of Tropical Systems

PEARL, Miss. – President Trump has approved the state of Mississippi’s request for a federal emergency declaration in anticipation of tropical systems Marco and Laura.

Under the approved federal emergency declaration, FEMA is authorized to provide emergency protective measures, limited to reimbursement for mass care, including evacuation and shelter support for 24 Mississippi counties.

The following counties are eligible for this federal assistance: Adams, Amite, Covington, Forrest, Franklin, George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lamar, Lawrence, Lincoln, Marion, Pearl River, Perry, Pike, Stone, Walthall, Wayne, and Wilkinson.

The purpose of a federal emergency declaration is to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures to save lives and to protect property and public health and safety, or to lessen the threat of a catastrophe in the designated areas.



*This type of assistance is not for individuals, this is to help local and county governments.