Hurricane season officially runs from June 1 to Nov. 30 each year. Homeowners, renters and business owners throughout Mississippi should prepare for the threat of hurricanes. For  detailed information, please read our Hurricane Preparedness Guide by clicking here.
Spanish Version

If a hurricane threatens your area, you should:

  • Listen to the radio or TV for information.
  • Secure your home, close storm shutters or board up your windows, secure outdoor objects or bring them indoors.
  • Turn off utilities if instructed to do so. Otherwise, turn the refrigerator thermostat to its coldest setting and keep its doors closed.
  • Turn off propane tanks.
  • Avoid using the phone except for serious emergencies.
  • Move your boat if time permits.
  • Ensure a supply of water for sanitary purposes such as cleaning and flushing toilets. Fill the bathtub and other large containers with water.

You should evacuate under these conditions:

  • If you are directed by local authorities to do so, be sure to follow their instructions.
  • If you live in a mobile home or temporary structure, such shelters are particularly hazardous during hurricanes no matter how well-fastened to the ground.
  • If you live in a high-rise building, hurricane winds are stronger at higher elevations.
  • If you live on the coast, in a floodplain, near a river or on an inland waterway.
  • If you think you are in danger.

For specific information on how citizens and businesses can better prepare for the hurricane season, click here.

Hurricane Surge Mapping:

The following maps show hurricane surge potential for all three coastal counties.

Harrison County Hurricane Surge Mapping:

Harrison County 1
Harrison County 2
Harrison County 3

Hancock County Hurricane Surge Mapping:

Hancock County 1
Hancock County 2
Hancock County 3
Hancock County 4

Jackson County Hurricane Surge Mapping:

Jackson County 1
Jackson County 2
Jackson County 3
Jackson County 4
Jackson County 5