Floodplain Management

The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) is a federal program enabling property owners and renters to purchase flood insurance. It is based on an agreement between communities and the federal government in which a community adopts and enforces certain floodplain regulations so that the federal government will make flood insurance available in that community.

MEMA is the designated the state agency for NFIP. The flood management branch has responsibility for the 312 communities that participate in the NFIP and the 23 communities that belong to the Community Rating System. We continue our commitment to reducing flood losses and preserving natural floodplain functions by embracing the broad and ever-changing field of floodplain management, flood hazard mitigation and the requirements of NFIP.

For additional information on NFIP and floodplain management contact 601-933-6610.

Information can also be found at www.floodsmart.gov.


Non-Engineered Openings

  ICC Policyholders Processing Checklist


  MS Flood Map Modernization Initiative

  Flood Ordinances: MS ‘A’ Model Ordinance, July 2005

  MS ‘B’ – ‘E’ Model Ordinance, April 2011

  Floodplain Management in Mississippi Quick Guide