SBA Working Capital Loans Available to Small Businesses in Mississippi Due to Continuing Drought

ATLANTA- TheU.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) announced today that federal Economic injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) are available in Mississippi for small businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture, and most private nonprofit organizations with economic losses due to the drought conditions that began on Aug. 29. The declaration includes Adams, Claiborne, Copiah, Forrest, […]

SBA Disaster Loans Available to Private Nonprofit Organizations in 12 Additional Counties

ATLANTA – The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) announced today that certain Private Non-Profit organizations (PNPs) in 12 additional Mississippi counties that do not provide critical services of a governmental nature may be eligible to apply for low-interest disaster loans for damages from severe storms, straight-line winds and flooding that occurred June 14-19, 2023. Eligible […]

FEMA Mobile Recovery Unit in Jasper County Closing September 8th

Madison, Miss. – The mobile recovery unit operated by FEMA and the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) in Jasper County is closing permanently today, Sept. 8, at 5 p.m. The unit is at the Jasper County Emergency Management Agency, parking lot (next to the Jasper County Justice Court) 37 W 8th Ave, Bay Springs, MS 39422. Jasper County residents do not need […]

FEMA Approves Twelve Additional Counties for Public Assistance for June 14-19 Severe Weather and Tornadoes

JACKSON, Miss. – Governor Reeves today announced that FEMA approved Mississippi’s request for additional counties to receive public assistance following June tornadoes and severe weather (DR-4727-MS). Throughout the week of June 14-19, 2023, Mississippi experienced a record-setting 18 tornadoes (19 total for the month of June). With the additional counties, a total of 28 counties and the Mississippi […]

FEMA Experts Offering Free Repair and Rebuilding Tips at Home Improvement and Hardware Stores

MADISON, Miss. – FEMA is bringing its Hazard Mitigation Community Education and Outreach specialists to home improvement and hardware stores in or near the communities affected by the June tornadoes and severe storms. These specialists can offer people tips about repairing, rebuilding, and improving their homes so these dwellings can better withstand severe weather. For their first […]

Grants for Cleaning Costs May Be Available for June Tornado Applicants

MADISON, Miss. – FEMA may be able to provide one-time financial assistance for cleaning costs to eligible residents of Jackson and Jasper counties whose homes were damaged by the June tornadoes. Homeowners and renters who apply to FEMA may qualify for this Clean and Sanitize Assistance if: ▪ Their home was damaged, but it is […]

Jackson County Disaster Recovery Center Closed Sunday and Labor Day

MADISON, Miss. – The Disaster Recovery Center operated by FEMA and the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) in Jackson County will be closed on Sunday, Sept. 3, and Monday, Sept. 4 in observance of Labor Day. The center will reopen on Tuesday, Sept. 5 at 8 a.m. The center is located at: Riverfront Community Center […]

FEMA Mobile Unit Opening in Jasper County, Disaster Recovery Center to Close Sept. 2

Madison, Miss. –FEMA and the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) are bringing a mobile recovery assistance unit to Jasper County as the fixed Disaster Recovery Center closes. FEMA and MEMA are continuing to support people affected by the June severe storms and tornadoes. A mobile recovery assistance unit will open on Tuesday, Sept. 5 at […]

Grants and Letters Going Out to Applicants in Jackson and Jasper Counties

MADISON, Miss. (FEMA) –  FEMA has begun approving grants and sending letters to homeowners and renters who applied for FEMA assistance following the June severe storms and tornadoes in Jackson and Jasper counties. Direct Deposits and Checks If an application is approved, applicants who gave their banking information to FEMA will be getting grant money directly […]