FEMA Mobile Unit Opening in Jasper County, Disaster Recovery Center to Close Sept. 2

Madison, Miss. –FEMA and the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) are bringing a mobile recovery assistance unit to Jasper County as the fixed Disaster Recovery Center closes. FEMA and MEMA are continuing to support people affected by the June severe storms and tornadoes. A mobile recovery assistance unit will open on Tuesday, Sept. 5 at […]

Grants and Letters Going Out to Applicants in Jackson and Jasper Counties

MADISON, Miss. (FEMA) –  FEMA has begun approving grants and sending letters to homeowners and renters who applied for FEMA assistance following the June severe storms and tornadoes in Jackson and Jasper counties. Direct Deposits and Checks If an application is approved, applicants who gave their banking information to FEMA will be getting grant money directly […]

SBA Opens Business Recovery Center in Jasper County to Assist Mississippians Applying for a Disaster Loan

ATLANTA (SBA)– The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) announced today it will open a Business Recovery Center (BRC) in Jasper County at noon on Monday, August 21, at The Community Center Missionary Baptist Church in Louin, MS. At the BRC, SBA’s customer service representatives will assist Mississippians applying for SBA disaster loans for losses due […]

Disaster Recovery Centers Opening in Jackson and Jasper Counties

MADISON, Miss. – The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) and FEMA are opening Disaster Recovery Centers in Jackson and Jasper counties to help people affected by the June tornadoes. The centers will open for business on Saturday, Aug. 19 at 9 a.m. At these service centers homeowners and renters will be able to meet face-to-face with […]

FEMA Representatives Coming to Affected Neighborhoods in Jackson and Jasper Counties

MADISON, Miss. (FEMA) – FEMA Disaster Survivor Assistance teams and FEMA-contracted home inspectors will be working in storm-affected neighborhoods in Jackson and Jasper counties following the major disaster declaration for the June 14-19 severe storms, straight-line winds and tornadoes. Disaster Survivor Assistance Teams FEMA is meeting survivors where they are, in their communities, to help […]

Federal Assistance Approved for June 14-19, 2023 Severe Weather and Tornadoes

JACKSON, Miss. – Governor Tate Reeves’ request for Individual and Public Assistance (DR-4727-MS) for counties affected by the June 14-19 severe weather and tornadoes was approved by the White House. The state experienced a record-setting number of tornadoes for June 2023, with 19 tornadoes in total. Sixteen counties were approved for Public Assistance and two for […]

SBA Approves Governor Reeves’ Request For Assistance In Winston County

JACKSON, Miss. – The U.S. Small Business Administration today approved Governor Tate Reeves’ request for assistance for homeowners and businesses affected by severe storms and flash flooding in Winston County on July 13, 2023. Many within Winston County, have experienced economic losses due to flooding. “These low-interest loans will help support Winston County homeowners and businesses […]

Governor Reeves Requests Major Disaster Declaration for Counties Impacted by Severe Storms

JACKSON, Miss. – Governor Tate Reeves today announced that he has requested a Major Disaster Declaration for 16 counties impacted by the severe storms, straight-line winds, and tornadoes that swept across the state from June 14 – June 19, 2023.This includes a request for individual assistance for Jackson and Jasper Counties. Additionally, it includes a request […]

Additional Assessments Underway as MEMA Builds Case for Federal Assistance

PEARL, Miss. (MEMA) – The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency has requested additional damage assessments following the June 18-19 severe weather and tornadoes. After assessing damage in Jackson and Jasper Counties, FEMA found the State has not met its damage threshold of $5.2 million in order to request a federal disaster declaration. The two counties’ public […]