Disaster Information 2023

JACKSON and JASPER Counties – Disaster Number is: (FEMA-4727 DR-MS)
Apply for FEMA Assistance:
  • By Phone: 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY)
  • Online: www.DisasterAssistance.gov
  • Through the FEMA App
  • OR Apply for FEMA Assistance In-Person at a Disaster Recovery Center
  • Centers are open:
      • Monday through Friday; 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.
      • Saturday; 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
      • Sunday; 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.

Jackson CountyRiverfront Community Center4400 Denny St.Moss Point, MS 39563

Jasper CountyLouin City Hall4240 MS-15Louin, MS 39338

REMINDER: During the FEMA Application Period, applicants may be referred to SBA:

U.S. Small Business Administration Assistance

– Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to businesses and residents in Mississippi following the severe storms and tornadoes that occurred on  June 14-19, 2023.

– The disaster declaration covers Jackson and Jasper counties, eligible for Physical and Economic Injury Disaster Loans from the SBA. Small businesses and most private nonprofit organizations in adjacent counties can apply only for SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs): Clark, George, Harrison, Jones, Lauderdale, Newton, Scott, Smith, Stone, and Wayne.

Business Recovery Center to apply for SBA assistance:


Business Recovery Center Business Recovery Center
Jackson County

Riverfront Community Center 4400 Denny Street

Moss Point, MS, 39563

Hours:      Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Saturday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Sunday, 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.

Jasper County

Community Center Missionary Baptist Church 1771 County Road 16, Louin, MS 39388

Opening: Monday, August 21, noon to 6 p.m.

Hours:      Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.;

Saturday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Closed:     Sunday

Disaster Unemployment Assistance:

  • Individuals who live or work in Jackson or Jasper counties and could not work because of major destruction that occurred on June 14-19, 2023, caused by severe storms, straight-line winds, and tornadoes, are entitled to apply for assistance. Each claim will be reviewed to determine eligibility to receive DUA.

Individuals eligible for DUA are those who:

  1. Became the major support for a household because of the disaster-related death of the head of the household;
  2. Cannot work because of an injury caused as a direct result of the disaster;
  3. Could not work or lost work as a result of physical damage or destruction of a business; or
  4. Are unable to work because of the physical inaccessibility of the place of employment due to its closure by the federal government.

Individuals in Jackson and Jasper Counties can apply online 24 hours a day at www.mdes.ms.gov or by calling 601-493-9428 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.


Mississippi businesses and residents affected by the severe storms and flooding in Winston County, Mississippi, on July 13, 2023, are eligible to apply for low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration. The declaration covers Winston County and the adjacent counties of Attala, Choctaw, Kemper, Leake, Neshoba, Noxubee, and Oktibbeha in Mississippi.

Disaster Loan Outreach Center :

  • Winston County: Winston County Annex 135 S. Court Ave, Louisville, MS 39339
  • Opening: Wednesday, August 16, 11 a.m. to 6 p.m.
  • Hours: Monday –Friday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturday, 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.; Closed Sunday
  • Permanently Closes: Wednesday, August 30 at 6p.m