Public Assistance

Public Assistance approved for nineteen counties following Ida

  • Eligible counties: Amite, Claiborne, Copiah, Covington, Franklin, George, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lawrence, Lincoln, Pearl River, Pike, Simpson, Walthall, Wayne, and Wilkinson.
  • Public assistance is available to local governments and eligible private non-profit agencies to assist in the costs for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.
  • Learn more about the Public Assistance program here.
Application deadline for Public Assistance = November 21, 2021

Local government officials in areas impacted by Hurricane Ida can watch MEMA’s applicant briefing for Public Assistance below:


Houses of Worship in disaster-declared counties are also eligible to apply for FEMA Public Assistance and SBA: