Federal Public Assistance Approved for Counties Affected in Pearl River Flood

PEARL, Miss. – Governor Tate Reeves’s request for federal public assistance for counties and municipalities affected during the Pearl River Flood Event was approved by President Trump on April 23, 2020.

The federal disaster declaration for February 10-18, 2020 flood event covers the following 11 counties: Attala, Carroll, Claiborne, Clay, Copiah, Grenada, Hinds, Holmes, Leflore, Warren, and Yazoo Counties. These counties sustained significant damage to public buildings, highways, roads. Public Assistance also covers the reimbursement to local governments for emergency work performed during this disaster.

Federal Public Assistance is available through FEMA. The purpose of the Public Assistance (PA) Grant Program is to support communities’ recovery from major disasters by providing them with grant assistance for debris removal, life-saving emergency protective measures, and restoring public infrastructure. Local governments, states, tribes, territories and certain private nonprofit organizations are eligible to apply.