New Disaster Assistance Centers to Open in Six Counties

PEARL, Miss. – The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency in partnership with our county EMA directors will open six Disaster Assistance Centers for residents, in the newly added counties, now eligible to apply for individual assistance following the April 12 severe weather and tornadoes. Those living in Clarke, Grenada, Jasper, Lawrence, Panola and Walthall counties could be eligible for the federal assistance through FEMA. These sites are to assist those without the means for applying online or by phone. The new disaster assistance center locations will open Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at noon.

Six Disaster Assistance Center Locations:

Clarke County:

Clarke County EMA

642 South Archusa Ave

Quitman, MS 39355

Grenada County:

Lewis Johnson Senior Citizen Complex

299 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd

Grenada, MS 38901

Jasper County:

Jasper EOC

37 D West 8th Ave

                     Bay Spring, MS 39422

Lawrence County:

Lawrence EOC

703 E Broad Street

Monticello, MS 39654

  Panola County:

Panola County Extension Building

394 Hwy 51 South

Batesville, MS 38606

Walthall County:

Walthall County EOC

908 Armory Road

                     Tylertown, MS 39667

The Disaster Assistance Centers are open:

 Monday- Friday 8 a.m.- 5 p.m. and Saturday 8 a.m. – 12 p.m.



Before arriving to a Disaster Assistance Center please have the following information below:

1. Social Security Number

You, another adult member or minor child in your household must have a Social Security number. You or they must also be a U.S. citizen, non-citizen national, or qualified alien.

If you don’t have a Social Security number, read the article How do I apply for a new or replacement Social Security number card. You will get instructions on what to do and what documents you will need.

Once you have your number, you may come back to or call FEMA at one of the phone numbers above to apply.

2. Insurance Information

Describe the type(s) of insurance coverage you have. This could include coverage under policies like homeowners, flood, automobile, or mobile home insurance.

3. Damage Information

Describe the damage caused by the disaster. Include the type of disaster (like flood, hurricane, or earthquake) and the type of dwelling or vehicle (like a condo, mobile home or house, or a car or truck).

4. Financial Information

Provide your total annual household income, before taxes, at the time of the disaster.

5. Contact Information

Provide the address and phone number of the property where the damage occurred and the address and phone number of where we can reach you now.

6. Direct Deposit Information (optional)

If approved, we can deposit your funds directly into your bank account. You just need to provide the following banking information:

    • Bank name
    • Type of account (like checking or savings)
    • Routing number
    • Account number


Storm victims in Covington, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Clarke, Panola, Lawrence, Walthall, Jasper and Grenada counties can also apply for individual assistance online by visiting or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). For the hearing and speech impaired, call 1-800-462-7585 to apply for individual assistance.