Additional Counties Eligible for Public Assistance in Pearl River Flood Event

Pearl, Miss. (MEMA)– Governor Tate Reeves’s request for federal public assistance for FEMA disaster 4538 has been approved.  Marion, Issaquena and Sharkey counties are now eligible for  public assistance following the February 10-18, 2020 Pearl River flood event and severe weather. The following counties are also a part of the disaster declaration: Attala, Carroll, Claiborne, […]

MEMA Employee Presented Prestigious National Floodplain Management Award

PEARL, Miss. – MEMA’s State NFIP Coordinator, Stacey Ricks, was presented the national Best State Compliance award by the National Flood Insurance Program.  Ricks was nominated by his peers from across the country for this award based on his contributions to floodplain management and flood loss reduction measures in Mississippi. “MEMA’s Floodplain Management Bureau being […]

Governor Reeves Declares State of Emergency Following Tropical Storm Cristobal

PEARL, Miss. – Governor Tate Reeves has signed a State of Emergency in response to Tropical Storm Cristobal, which made landfall along the Louisiana coast Sunday evening. The storm brought heavy rain, strong winds and storm surge to the Mississippi Gulf Coast leading to extensive damage in some areas. A State of Emergency is an […]

Tropical Storm Cristobal Preliminary Damage Reports

PEARL, Miss. – Tropical Storm Cristobal made landfall Sunday evening just east of Grand Isle, Louisiana with maximum sustained winds of 50 mph. Wind gusts exceeded 60 mph at times along the Mississippi Gulf Coast and average rainfall totals ranged from 6-8 inches in these coastal locations with locally higher amounts. At this time, Jackson, […]

26 Additional Counties Eligible for Public Assistance Following Easter Storms

Pearl, Miss. – Governor Tate Reeves’s request for federal public assistance for additional counties following April 12, 2020, Easter Tornadoes, has been approved. On that day, 15 tornadoes ripped through the state of Mississippi, killing 14 people. Initially, Jones, Covington and Jefferson Davis Counties were approved for public assistance. The following counties are now eligible […]

SBA Offers Assistance to Mississippians Following April 19 Severe Weather

PEARL, Miss. – The U.S. Small Business Administration is offering assistance to residents of Marion County following the April 19, 2020 severe weather event. Businesses and residents of Marion County can now apply for low-interest disaster loans from the SBA, which includes both Physical and Economic Injury Disaster Loans. Additionally, residents and businesses in contiguous […]

June 15 Deadline to Apply for SBA Disaster Loans Following Easter Sunday Storms

Pearl, Miss. – The U.S. Small Business Administration is encouraging businesses, nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters impacted by the Sunday, April 12, 2020 storms in the nine declared counties to apply for a physical disaster loan before the June 15 deadline. The counties included in the disaster declaration are: Clarke, Covington, Grenada, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, […]

New Disaster Assistance Centers to Open in Six Counties

PEARL, Miss. – The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency in partnership with our county EMA directors will open six Disaster Assistance Centers for residents, in the newly added counties, now eligible to apply for individual assistance following the April 12 severe weather and tornadoes. Those living in Clarke, Grenada, Jasper, Lawrence, Panola and Walthall counties could be […]

FEMA Approves Additional Counties for Federal Assistance

PEARL, Miss. – Governor Reeves’s request for additional counties to be added to the Federal Disaster Declaration 4536 for Individual Assistance, has been approved. Initially, three counties (Jones, Covington and Jefferson Davis) were approved for individual and public assistance following the April 12, 2020 tornadoes and severe weather. On May 8, 2020, FEMA approved additional […]

MEMA Requests Federal Assistance for Additional Counties Following the April 12 Storms

PEARL, Miss. – In April, MEMA requested Public and Individual Assistance for additional counties following the April 12, 2020 severe weather and tornadoes. As of now, Jones, Covington and Jefferson Davis Counties are the only counties that have been approved by FEMA to receive both Public and Individual Assistance. However, MEMA has requested Clarke, Carroll, […]